Never too old.

Sitting in the lobby of my child’s after school activity I spot the encouragement my grieving heart was looking for: “You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.”-C.S. Lewis

Beyond middle age I, racked with multiple health problems I am now going to have to endure a divorce by a narcissistic abuser.  I have read Bill Eddy’s book, “Splitting: Protecting Yourself While Divorcing Someone with Borderline or Narcissistic Personality Disorder”; and I am afraid.  The future, post-divorce seems equally dark; fraught with emotional pain, poverty, and loneliness.

I had to fight back tears in that lobby thinking about the fight ahead and it’s aftermath. And it led to me wondering if God is against people being happy.  I’ve read so many articles on the Christian life being about joy in the midst of suffering that I wonder if that’s all there is—-suffering.  It seems mention the word “happy” to some Christians and it’s treated like sacrilege.  So when I saw a beautiful graphic with a C.S. Lewis quote I felt some hope.  Surely he walked with God and felt it good to have goals and dreams.  I’m daring to adopt this mindset.

 

2 thoughts on “Never too old.

  1. Thank you for stopping by my blog. I pray you find hope in the Lord as you walk through this difficult time. Read through the Psalms to see just how worthy and beautiful you truly are! And cling to the Rock for He will not let you go.
    Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

